How to Be a Lacto Ovo Vegetarian.
Part 3: Expanding your Menu Options.
Make an attempt to step out of your comfort zone. Switching to a lacto-ovo vegetarian diet can be a major change, and sticking to it can feel difficult if you only focus on what you can’t eat. However, your diet can also be a way of opening up to new and exciting possibilities. Trying new things helps ensure that you are eating a varied diet and getting all of the nutrients you need.
Try a variety of cuisines. Many cuisines are rich in options for lacto-ovo vegetarians. Dining out at a variety of restaurants can be a great way to try new foods and get ideas for dishes.
Asian cuisines (including Chinese, Japanese, Thai, and Vietnamese) often have meatless options, based on vegetables and/or tofu. Some of these dishes are prepared using fish sauces, so ask if you are unsure.
South Asian cuisines (Indian, Pakistani, Nepali, etc.) often offer meatless dishes based on lentils, rice, curried vegetables, yogurts, and other foods that are permissible in a lacto-ovo vegetarian diet.
It is not too difficult to find meatless options in Mediterranean cuisines (Italian, Greek, Middle Eastern). Look for dishes incorporating falafel (chicken peas balls), couscous, eggplant, tabbouleh, feta, and other foods. Many specific dishes and sauces are explicitly meatless, such as pasta primavera (with veggies) and pesto (marinara contains fish).
Options for lacto-ovo vegetarians in Mexican cuisine include bean-based burritos, vegetable fajitas and nachos, cheese or bean enchiladas, quesadillas, tamales, rice dishes, huevos rancheros, guacamole, salsas, refried beans, and more. Ask if you want to make sure that any of these dishes are not made with lard or other animal products.
Look for substitutions. If you have a recipe or dish that traditionally requires meat, there are ways to substitute it with lacto-ovo vegetarian approved options. Meat substitutes include:
Tempeh is made from fermented soybeans. It can be sliced or processed like meat to be fried, baked, roasted, etc.
Seitan is processed from wheat gluten. It has a mild flavor and a texture similar to meat. It can be used in strips, chunks, etc. in many recipes instead of meat.
Tofu is coagulated soy milk that has been pressed into blocks. Soft tofu can range from creamy to crumbly, while firm tofu can be sliced into strips or pieces to be grilled, marinated, baked, etc.
Textured vegetable protein is produced from soy, and comes in a variety of forms (flakes, chunks, etc.). These can be added to dishes to increase their protein content, or can be used as a ground meat substitute in chili, spaghetti, burgers, and practically any other dish.
Beans are rich and protein and can be used as a meat substitute. For example, vegetarian chili can be made by substituting more beans instead of beef.
Vegetarian or vegan alternatives have been developed for many animal products. Many supermarkets carry now items such as bean-based “hamburgers,” soy “hot dogs,” and tofu “turkey,” and “bacon” made from ingredients like tempeh and seitan.
Although cheese is permissible in a lacto-ovo vegetarian diet, you can also choose vegan soy “cheese” as an option.
Quorn is a good substitute
Use cookbooks and recipe sites to find ideas. You can easily research lacto-ovo vegetarian recipes. These will give you lots of ideas for dishes to try, and new or different foods to incorporate into your diet.
The USDA and other organizations maintain lists of resources, and internet search engines will also reveal lots of possibilities.
All Health Tips and Information here
Thanks for watching love you guys so much! And thanks to supporting my channel! All my opinions are my own! Please do like, Comment, subscribe
The information on this channel is designed for educational purposes only. It is not intended to be a substitute for informed medical advice or care.You should not use this information to diagnose or treat any health problems.Please consult a doctor with any questions or concerns you might have regarding your or your child’s condition.